Feds make E-Verify Self Check tool more accessible

The feds just expanded the universe of who can use the E-Verify Self Check Tool.
It’s now available in:

  • Spanish, and
  • 16 additional states: CA, LA, ME, MD, MA, MN, MO, NE, NV, NJ, NY, OH, SC, TX, UT and WA.

Previously, Self Check was only available for residents of AZ, CO, ID, MS, VA and Washington, DC. The U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services (USCIS) plans to expand the Self Check program nationwide by Spring 2012.
Self Check is administered through a partnership between USCIS and the SSA. Employees can confirm their eligibility to work in the U.S. by entering the same info they’ll report on their Form I-9, Employment Eligibility Verification.
Self Check allows users (ages 16 and older) to compare their info to the same databases that E-Verify accesses, giving them an opportunity to fix any data mismatches before they’re hired by an E-Verify-participating employer.
You can get more info about the Self Check tool here.